Articles header

TFCA Awards 2017

13 Dec 2017

The 2017 TFCA (Toronto Film Critics Association Awards)

Every December, the Toronto Film Critics Association (TFCA) like the critics in many large cities in North America sit down to award the best of the best in terms of Best Picture, Actor, Actress and other categories in film.

This is how the top winner is selected.

Each critic submits his or her choice for each category numbered 1 to 5.  The first pick gets 5 points, second 4 points etc.  All the points are totalled and the nominees reduced to three in each category.  On a Sunday, all the members show up for a live-got to select one of the three, often after much debate.

This year, the main prize of Best Picture goes to Simon Baker’s THE FLORIDA PROJECT, a low budget film about poor people living in the fringes of the huge wealthy Disney amusement park.  The Best Actor and Best Actress honours went to Daniel Day-Lewis for PHANTOM THREAD and Frances McDormand, both already Oscar winners. 

Unanimous in the categories for Best Foreign Film was the brilliant art satire THE SQUARE and for Best Documentary, the beloved French feature VISAGES, VILLAGES (FACES, PLACES) by Agnes Varda and JR.

But somehow neglected are two of my personal BEST films, Christopher Nolan’s excellent DUNKIRK and Alexander Payne’s adult fantasy DOWNSIZING.

The full list of nominees and winners are outlined following, with the winner indicated with two asterisks (**).

The winners will be celebrated during the TFCA Annual Gala on January the 9th Tuesday, at the Carlu.  The BEST CANADIAN FILM will be announced then.

Best Picture

The Florida Project  **

Phantom Thread

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, MO

Best Actor

Timothee Chalamet, Call Me By Your Name

Daniel Day-Lewis, Phantom Thread **

Gary Oldman, Darkest Hour

Best Actress

Sally Hawkins, The Shape of Water

Frances McDormand, Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, MO **

Saoirse Ronan, Lady Bird

Best Supporting Actor

Willem Dafoe, The Florida Project **

Sam Rockwell, Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, MO

Michael Stuhlbarg, Call Me By Your Name

Best Supporting Actress

Allison Janney, I, Tonya

Lesley Manville, Phantom Thread

Laurie Metcalf, Lady Bird **

Best Director

Paul Thomas Anderson, Phantom Thread

Greta Gerwig, Lady Bird **

Jordan Peele, Get Out

Best Screenplay

Get Out **

Lady Bird

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, MO

Best First Feature

Get Out **

Lady Macbeth


Best Animated Feature

The Breadwinner **


Window Horses

Best Foreign Film

Faces, Places


The Square **

Best Documentary Feature

Faces, Places **



Search Site

Latest Articles

Apr 30, 2020

Finding Sally: HotDocs features Tamara Mariam Dawit’s intergenerational journey of remembrance and reckoning

in Movies by Meres J. Weche
Each year, the Hot Docs documentary festival — the largest in North America —… Read more >>
Feb 01, 2020

From LEGOs to Legacy: Ekow Nimako envisions Africa’s bright future

in Arts by Adele Ambrose
The AGA KHAN Museum presents Caravans of Gold Fragments in Time, from September… Read more >>
Nov 23, 2019

The Last Black Man in San Francisco — a tale of community

in Movies by Adele Ambrose
The Last Black Man in San Francisco marks the feature-length directorial debut… Read more >>
Oct 21, 2019

Illustrator Yasmeen Souffrant on designing your own path

in Careers & Workplace by Meres J. Weche
Montreal native and Haitian-Canadian, Yasmeen Souffrant, has loved drawing from… Read more >>
Oct 02, 2019

Finding agency through the lens

in Arts by Meres J. Weche
An interview with Sandrine Colard — curator of The Way She Looks photography… Read more >>

Latest on Instagram

Featured Events

No events found.

Join Our Mailing List

Advertise with us

Subscribe to podcast

Find a Job

AfroToronto.com participates in affiliate marketing programs, which means we may earn a commission if you purchase an item featured on our site. These affiliate links, along with advertisements, support us and they come to no expense for you.

Media KitPrivacy Policy | Member Access

Copyright © 2005-2020 Culture Shox Media. All rights reserved unless otherwise stated.